Do you like helping others, problem solving, and making a difference in your community? If yes, you may want to consider a career as a private investigator. Like other careers, there are specific legal requirements that vary by state. In Florida, individuals must become licensed before they can become a private investigator. Let’s take a closer look at the specifics of how to become a Florida private investigator.
How to Become a PI in Florida
Enroll in a Training Course
The first step to becoming a PI is to enroll in a 40-hour private investigator intern training course that meets Florida’s division of licensing requirements. To qualify for a Class “CC” license, the individual must be sponsored by a Class “C”, “M”, or “MA” licensee. Check out what each type of class license means below.
What Does Each Class License Mean?
- Class “C” is a private investigator license
- Class “M” is for managers of private investigative agencies
- Class “MA” is for managers of private investigative agencies
Obtain a “CC” License
A class “CC” license is for a private investigative intern. This license allows interns to gain helpful experience during an internship with a licensed private investigative agency. This training covers general investigative techniques.
“CC” License Requirements include
- Being at least 18 years old
- Being a U.S. citizen or legal resident
- Have no disqualifying criminal history
- Being of good moral character
- Not having any history of mental illness
- Not having any history of illegal drugs
- Not having any history of alcoholism
Obtain a “C” License
After getting your “CC” license, you can then apply for your “C” license. This license is required to become a private investigator in the state of Florida. To qualify for this license, the individual should have a couple of years of lawfully gained, verifiable, and full-time experience. This experience can be achieved by working on investigative cases, course work, or an internship. When applying for a “CC” license, individuals must also submit a Sponsor Private Investigator Intern Form (Form DACS-16026).
In addition to applying for this license, individuals must pass an exam. This exam covers Florida law that deals with the business practices of the PI industry, as well as the legal duty of a licensed PI or agency. Individuals will receive a copy of Chapter 493 and the Private Investigator Handbook, which can be used to prepare for the exam. Once the exam is passed, individuals will need to complete their application for a Class “C” license.
Requirements for Class “C” License
- Complete the Class C Private Investigator License application
- Include a color passport-sized photo of you that’s recent
- Include a completed, signed, and notarized Affidavit of Experience (Form FDACS-16023)
- Include the certificate of completion confirming your passing score on the exam
- Include proof that you have completed the training and/or education requirements, such as a degree, diploma, or transcript
- Include a set of fingerprints on the fingerprint card provided in the application or electronic fingerprint scan
- Include a check or money order payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for 167 dollars. This includes a 50 dollar application fee, 75 dollar license fee, and 42 dollar fingerprint processing fee
Mail this information to the:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 9100
Tallahassee, FL 32315-9100
Conceal Carry as a PI
If you want to carry a concealed weapon as a private investigator, you must be at least 21 years old and file a Class G Statewide Firearms License application. Check out the qualifications for this application below.
Conceal Carry Requirements
- Include the certificate showing you have completed the mandatory firearms training
- Include a health certificate signed by your physician or NP
- Include a passport-sized photograph of yourself
- Include your fingerprint information
- Include a check or money order payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for 154 dollars (license fee of 112 dollars and fingerprint processing fee of 42 dollars)
- Mail this information to the Division of Licensing listed above.
If you are considering a career in private investigation, we hope this article helped highlight the steps and documents required to achieve this goal. Private investigators in Florida have an incredible opportunity to help people in their local communities. Contact the experts at PATRIOT Backgrounds and Investigations in Davie, FL today to learn more about our one-stop shop for all of your private investigation services.